Redefining Perfect

Great post from Brittany’s Bliss on her struggle with trying to be perfect. Everyone I know can relate to this pressure and the struggle to succeed.
As our society develops and advances, I wonder if this pressure increasing, and therefor the negative side effects are also increasing? It’s a worthwhile discussion. I wonder how the book Perfect, by Ellen Hopkins she references would spark a book club discussion.

Living Thoreauly

You are perfect just the way you are cape, underwear, boots and all!!!Perfect. How do you define a word without concrete meaning? To each his own, the saying goes, so why push to attain an ideal state of being that no two random people will agree is where you want to be? Faultless. Finished. Incomparable. People can never be these, and anyway, when did creating a flawless facade become a more vital goal than learning to love the person who lives inside your skin? The outside belongs to others. Only you should decide for you- what is perfect.

I just finished this book titled Perfect, by Ellen Hopkins. I have to say I liked the book. This is the first page of the book and I felt it is so right on. The last few years I’ve discovered this has been me. The striving perfectionist. My thoughts centered on how I was appearing to the world. I wanted to have it all…

View original post 516 more words

Leave a Reply

